Serving With Your Kids | 31 Days:Day 5 | ImpressYourKids

Serving With Your Kids: 31 Days | ImpressYourKids.

October 5, 2011 | Filed in: 31 Days | by Amanda

When I was in High School, my youth group went on a missions trip to inner-city Philadelphia. We did puppet shows and Bible clubs for kids in the projects, we painted buildings and painted some more. Two of the chaperones that week were my parents. My mom worked at our church, but my dad had to take a week off to be a chaperone for my trip. Why? Because he loves teenagers? Well, maybe. But really, one teenager–ME.

My parents always worked hard at making sure we worked hard together. We have served food to homeless, set up puppet shows for kids in the inner-city, cleaned up churches and been counselors at camp together. And when we do these things together we’re making memories because the events are fun! Our trip to Philly has all kinds of inside jokes and memories. Camp is a big deal we talk about all year. Hard work does more than just get jobs done. Hard work binds people together. And when that hard work is kingdom-work, ministry-minded, serving-Jesus-by-serving-others kinda work? The bonds go even deeper.
Click here to read the rest of the article…

About melichte

Director of Women's and Children's Ministries at Taft Avenue Community Church in Orange, CA, and trying my best to implement and encourage Family Ministry concepts and approaches in all aspects of what I do.
This entry was posted in Family Life, Parenting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Serving With Your Kids | 31 Days:Day 5 | ImpressYourKids

  1. Pingback: Work AT Church | 31 Days:Day 9 | ImpressYourKids | Connect to Family Ministry @TACC

Leave a comment